Games

Highlight: Shanoa

shanoa bannerWell, it’s February mates, and that means that Winter is finally on its way out!

It also just happens to be the month I was born, so I figured it would be the perfect time to take a look at some of the characters I like! As such over the next four weeks I will be doing a series of Highlights explaining a bit about why I like them, just like I did for Hilda a few weeks back.

Now seeing as this is the first post of the series, I figured it would be only fitting to talk about my favorite character from one of the first games I really connected with.So come with me mates as I take a look over the protagonist of the excellent Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia, Shanoa!

Before I get to Shanoa herself however, I would like to take a quick moment to explain my history with the games she’s from. To be quite honest, I really didn’t like it when I first started playing.

I found the controls to be sluggish and the difficulty to be a tad more punishing than I prefer. However over time that opinion changed greatly as I got use to the controls and became better at the game. This was only influenced by Shanoa herself, who possessed a very unique ability.

shanoa glyphsYou see she is part of the titular Order of Ecclesia, who have taken up the duty of protecting the world from Dracula’s inevitable return after the disappearance of the Belmont clan. However, as they possess neither the Belmonts skill, nor their sacred whip, they make up for it by using special tattoos that can store magical sigils called “Glyphs”. It’s Shanoa’s ability to use of glyphs being one of the key reasons I like her. With them she can use a variety of ethereal weapons and magical abilities, gaining new ones by absorbing the glyphs hidden in the world around her.

It was the first time I had seen a character with a power like that, so it really caught my interest when I played Order of Ecclesia for the first time. However not only is it cool in concept, it’s also very fun to use gameplay wise and allows for experimentation on how to handle the situations presented to the player.

The other key thing about Shanoa I like is her design.

With her long dark hair, pale skin and long flowing dress, she strikes a haunting yet beautiful visual; Almost to the point that she seems almost out of place fighting the things that go bump in the night, yet her cool expression tells you just how capable she is. It gives her an air of mysterious grace and power, making her truly feel like the vampire hunter she is.

shanoa and albus on stairsIt’s a stellar example of the excellent gothic design the Castlevania team is capable of, still sticking in my mind even after eight years.

And that about wraps it up for this week.

I could talk more about her, but I feel like what I’ve already said gets my point across.

No need to pointlessly drag things out for the sake of length. I would recommend playing Order of Ecclesia, as it is a solid entry in the ever celebrated Castlevania series. However seeing that it was made in 2008 for the original DS, copies of it would probably be pretty hard to come by these days.

Still if you do ever get the chance, check it out and see if you agree with my thoughts on Shanoa!

As always, feel free to share your thoughts in the comments and check EhTaku out on Twitter! Would love to hear your thoughts!

Cheers!

~Fish

One thought on “Highlight: Shanoa

Leave a Reply

